Reckless Girls: A Novel (Paperback)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Reckless Girls: A Novel Cover Image
$17.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

January 2022 Indie Next List


“A tropical murder mystery perfect for mid-winter reading, this book is set on a sinister island in the Pacific, packed with Hawkins’ wonderfully gritty characters, and a murderer amongst them. I devoured this one.”
— Samantha Ladwig, Imprint Bookstore, Port Townsend, WA

Description


From Rachel Hawkins, the New York Times bestselling author of The Wife Upstairs, comes a deliciously wicked gothic suspense, set on an isolated Pacific island with a dark history, for fans of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware.

ONE ISLAND
Beautiful, wild, and strange––Meroe Island is a desolate spot in the middle of the Pacific Ocean with a mysterious history of shipwrecks, cannibalism, and even rumors of murder. It’s the perfect destination for the most adventurous traveler to escape anything…except the truth.

SIX VISITORS
Six stunning twentysomethings are about to embark on a blissful, free-spirited journey––one filled with sun-drenched days and intoxicating nights. But as it becomes clear that the group is even more cut off from civilization than they initially thought, it starts to feel like the island itself is closing in, sending them on a dangerous spiral of discovery.

COUNTLESS SECRETS
When one person goes missing and another turns up dead, the remaining friends wonder what dark currents lie beneath this impenetrable paradise––and who else will be swept under its secluded chaos.

With its island gothic sensibility, sexy suspense, and spine-tingling reimagining of an Agatha Christie classic, Reckless Girls will wreck you.

About the Author


Rachel Hawkins is the New York Times bestselling author of The Wife Upstairs and Reckless Girls, as well as multiple books for young readers. Her work has been translated in over a dozen countries. She studied gender and sexuality in Victorian literature at Auburn University and currently lives in Alabama.

Praise For…


Praise for Reckless Girls:

Indie Next Pick and LibraryReads Pick

"It started as a romantic idyll. It ended with a stack of corpses. In “Reckless Girls," a vacation on a remote atoll in the South Pacific goes very, very wrong...the ending feels like that great moment in “Body Heat” when the camera swoops down to reveal the identity of the last person standing at the end of all the mayhem. Who will it be?"––The New York Times

“A literary piña colada…Hawkins merges pitch-black comedy and wicked, gasp-inducing thrills, surprising at every turn as she uses the genre to comment on vengeance and femininity…Irresistible.”––Entertainment Weekly

"This diabolically plotted nail-biter makes for dangerously addictive reading"––Publishers Weekly

"Evocative prose and a palpably foreboding atmosphere complement Lux’s present-tense narration, which Hawkins studs with flashbacks exposing the secrets, lies, and betrayals that brought each character to this point. Danger and interpersonal drama abound, with a slew of outrageous twists adding to the fun. A soapy, claustrophobic page-turner."––Kirkus

"Hawkins twists revenge, madness, and an increasingly menacing setting into a cleverly plotted nightmare in paradise. A must-read for fans of Ruth Ware."––Booklist (starred)

"
With a gothic sense of foreboding and plenty of dark secrets...the plot builds to an explosive conclusion. Hawkins uses the tensions among her young, beautiful characters to take a look at the intersections of class and gender, but there are no innocent people in this treacherous paradise. Fans of the film The Beach and television's Lost will be enthralled."––Shelf Awareness

"Like its seductive island setting, Rachel Hawkins’ sharp and feral Reckless Girls is a shimmering mirage of a novel that tantalizes from page one. Perfectly crafted and compulsively readable, each twist in this gripping tale of trust and survival is a gift just waiting to be unwrapped." –– Katherine St. John, author of The Lion's Den

"Sharp and taut with a slow burning tension that builds into an inferno, Reckless Girls takes the reader to remote Meroe Island. Beautiful, desolate, and sinister, six friends must grapple with secrets uncovered, guilt and grief, and a desperate fight to survive. Reckless Girls is a thriller worth staying up all night to finish."––Julie Clark, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of The Last Flight

"When six adventurous twenty-somethings set sail for a South Pacific Island in Rachel Hawkins’ un-put-downable new thriller, you might wish you were on board with them. That is, until the secrets they’ve packed expose themselves, the island turns menacing, and it suddenly becomes clear there’s a killer in paradise. Forget an early night. As the body count mounts in this fresh and riveting take on Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None, you’ll tear breathlessly through the pages and won’t stop until you reach the stunning, jaw-dropping conclusion, one that makes you ask, 'Can anyone ever be trusted?'"––Kate White, New York Times bestselling author of The Fiancée



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250791573
ISBN-10: 125079157X
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
Publication Date: November 22nd, 2022
Pages: 320
Language: English